fun with fabric and checking things off my list

I’ve had several nagging tasks on my to-do list (for years) and I finally tackled them.  #1) I dragged my heavy  sewing machine in to the local repair shop to be fixed, and #2) I took two needlepoint canvases I’d been working on (one since 1970) to the local needlepoint shop, and had them made into pillows. What a great feeling to check these things off my list.   And I’m pleased with the results.


IMG_1018

This was my very first needlepoint project.  I started it on a dock in Newport Beach in 1970.  Now it’s done!  It took me only 44 years to finish it.

IMG_1017

A trip to Nantucket with my dear husband in 1990 was the inspiration for this needlepoint.   I drew the image on the canvas looking at a postcard of Sconset.  This one took me only 24 years to complete.  Getting faster!

IMG_1019

This needlepoint was done by my grandmother – I’m not sure when.  I had it remade into a new pillow along with the other two, and it looks so much better now!  I love having these pillows around the house – they bring back sweet memories and give me a feeling of accomplishment.

With my sewing machine oiled and ready to go, I could get back to a few fun fabric projects I’d been wanting to do.  I sewed these reversible fabric baskets based on a picture I saw on Pinterest. Filled with See’s chocolates and plastic eggs, they made great “Easter baskets” for my kids, easy to transport and send through the mail.

IMG_0203

IMG_0202

With the fabric leftover from the baskets, I sewed a new reversible runner for the table in my breakfast nook.  The bright colors are so cheerful and perfect for summer!

IMG_0798

IMG_0796

Now I need to get to work on my photo albums!

 

 

Leave a Reply

